web tracker

The 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL)

The 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL), also known as TATA IPL 2023 due to sponsorship reasons, is the upcoming 16th season of the franchise Twenty20 cricket league in India. The league is owned and operated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

After four years of holding the league in neutral venues due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the season schedule will return to its original home and away format. Additionally, the league will organise “fan parks” in 45 cities and an opening ceremony will be held, bringing back an arrangement last used in 2019.

Several new laws have been introduced for the 2023 season, including a penalty of five runs if unfair movement of a fielder or wicketkeeper occurs during a delivery, resulting in the delivery being declared a dead ball. The new “Impact Player” rule allows teams to declare a playing XI and a list of four impact players after the toss, allowing them to adapt to the playing conditions. If a team fails to bowl their 20 overs in the allocated time, only four fielders will be allowed outside the fielding restrictions area. Teams can also review wides and no-balls using the Decision Review System for the first time, a system that was previously used during the 2023 Women’s Premier League.

Team Coach Captain
Chennai Super Kings
Coach – Stephen Fleming Captain – MS Dhoni
Delhi Capitals Coach – Ricky Ponting Captain – David Warner
Punjab Kings Coach – Trevor Bayliss Captain – Shikhar Dhawan
Kolkata Knight Riders Coach – Chandrakant Pandit Captain – Nitish Rana
Mumbai Indians Coach – Mark Boucher Captain – Rohit Sharma
Rajasthan Royals Coach – Kumar Sangakkara Captain – Sanju Samson
Royal Challengers Bangalore Coach – Sanjay Bangar Captain – Faf du Plessis
Sunrisers Hyderabad Coach – Brian Lara Captain – Aiden Markram
Lucknow Super Giants Coach -Andy Flower Captain – KL Rahul
Gujarat Titans Coach – Ashish Nehra Captain – Hardik Pandya

READ MORE  US jet shoots down another mystery 'object' over Canada