web tracker

ICC WORLD CUP 2023- 37th Match – India vs South Africa

South Africa vs India Live Score, Cricket World Cup 2023: Birthday boy Virat Kohli slams 49th ODI century as India post 326/5 vs South Africa

Live Score -> Server-1, Server-2
IND vs SA Live Updates: ndia’s Virat Kohli equalled Sachin Tendulkar’s record of 49 one-day international hundreds when he reached three figures in a World Cup match against South Africa on Sunday.

Kohli, on his 35th birthday, got to the landmark in 119 balls, including 10 fours, at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens.

Continuing with his high-risk game, Rohit Sharma gave India a flourishing start but South Africa pegged the hosts back by removing the captain and his opening partner Shubhman Gill in their World Cup match, here on Sunday.

Rohit hit a 24-ball 40 and shared a 62-run opening partnership with Shubman Gill (23) but the Proteas left them fighting at 105 for two after 15 overs.

The flurry of shots from Rohit’s bat saw India complete 50 runs in just 4.3 overs as the skipper smashed two sixes and six boundaries during his entertaining innings.

However, Rohit could not build on the solid start with pacer Kagiso Rabada taking his wicket. Temba Bavuma hung on to a fast-travelling shot after Rohit could not get enough elevation to clear the fielder at mid-off.

The Proteas skipper swooped to his right to take a great catch.

Gill departed soon, flummoxed by a superb delivery from spinner Keshav Maharaj in the 11th over, which landed just outside leg, turned slightly to beat the young batting sensation and clip the bails.

READ MORE  Wrexham: An intoxicating tale of Hollywood glamor and sporting romance

For a moment Gill was in disbelief, not knowing if it was a stumping or he had been clean-bowled, However, TV referral showed the ball had indeed clipped the bails.

Virat Kohli (24), celebrating his 35th birthday, and Shreyas Iyer (7) were at the crease by the end of the 15th over.

India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat first against South Africa.

Both teams have already qualified for the semi-finals, with table-toppers India unbeaten in seven matches and South Africa second after six victories.

India named an unchanged side from their thumping win over Sri Lanka, with all-rounder Hardik Pandya ruled out of the rest of the tournament due to an ankle injury.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi.